Variations on Potato Soup

Potato Soup

I love a good potato soup, and lately I’ve been making different variations of this classic to mix things up and make it healthier. Here are some of my tips for making variations on potato soup—get creative!

  • I boil my potatoes and other veggies in chicken or vegetable stock for good flavor. Pour in just enough stock to barely cover the vegetables, boil until done, and puree the whole thing. Add more liquid if needed.
  • Replace up to 1/3 of the potatoes with cut up cauliflower. You won’t notice flavor or color-wise, and it makes the soup creamier and more nutritious.
  • Add broccoli for a potato-broccoli soup, or add spinach at the end of cooking for a green pop.
  • An immersion blender works best in my experience, but a blender also works for pureeing. Just work in batches and crack the lid if your soup is hot.
  • Roasted or sauteed garlic, sauteed leeks, lemon juice, and red pepper flakes all add great flavor.
  • I never use heavy cream for a normal weeknight meal (it’s dangerous for me to have around), so I rely on perfectly pureed potatoes, cauliflower, and sometimes a touch of milk, sour cream or yogurt for a creamy soup.
  • For a cheesy soup without all the fat, add finely grated parmesan to the soup and a sprinkle of cheese on top. Parmesan has a strong enough flavor that a little goes a long way.
  • Don’t forget toppings! They add texture and extra flavor. My favorite toppings include: spring onions (grilled or raw), sharp cheddar cheese, goat cheese, parmesan, crispy bacon, herbs, a swirl of olive oil, crispy garlic

Pictured is a broccoli-potato soup that I made with Yukon gold potatoes, broccoli and cauliflower. I started with sauteed onion and garlic, added the veggies (potatoes first and little trees a bit later), chicken stock and a bay leaf, and simmered until all were tender. Lastly I added salt, pepper, parmesan and lemon juice and pureed. Topped with grilled spring onions and cheddar cheese.

Variations on Potato Soup

Leave a Reply

