Mini Muffins

mini muffins

I love breakfast pastries, and that includes a good muffin. I’m not talking about those vending machine cake rocks, I’m talking tender, lightly sweet, and satisfying muffins. I make them often and toast a couple for my breakfast during the week. In order to justify this, I make my muffins as healthy as possible–using white whole wheat flour, flax in lieu of egg, and no butter (that goes on later). I’ve tried several recipes over the years and have tweaked and altered until I was happy with them.

This year I’m trying not to eat as much sugar (and so far, epically failing), so I tried a new recipe that contains no refined sugar. I didn’t have fruit juice, so I used milk–the big problem here is most of the sweetness comes from the fruit juice. So I had to improvise, which meant I ended up using some raw sugar. Whoops.

Regardless, they ended up being tasty little muffins with low sugar content. If you’d like to go sugar free, I’d suggest trying the original recipe with fruit juice. I halved the recipe and it made 14 little mini muffins.

Whole Wheat, Low Sugar Mini Muffins
makes about 28 mini muffins

1½ cups white whole wheat flour
½ tsp salt
2 tsp baking powder
½ tsp cinnamon
dash nutmeg
2 tsp finely ground flax mixed with 2 tablespoons warm water*
3 T honey
1 tsp vanilla
1/4 cup oil
3/4 cup milk or soy/almond milk
1/8 cup chia seeds
1 cup of chopped frozen strawberries and blueberries, mixed with 2 T raw sugar

Preheat to 400 degrees and prepare two mini muffin tins.

Prepare fruit and set aside. Mix together the dry ingredients (minus the flax).

Add the wet ingredients (including flax) and mix just until combined. Add berries and chia seeds and fold in. If the berries are soupy, toss them with a tablespoon or two of flour first.

Fill cups 3/4 of the way full. Sprinkle with raw sugar. Bake for about 12 minutes, until a toothpick comes out clean.

*Before beginning recipe, mix 2 tsp finely ground flax with 2 T warm water in a small bowl and set in fridge to set up. Remove and stir just before using.

Mini Muffins

Leave a Reply

