Vicki’s Quiche

vicki's quiche

My mother is a great cook. Growing up, we had homemade lunches and dinners almost daily. Her go-to thank you gift was a pecan pie, and there was always a sweet treat baking to take to school or work. She taught me loads about the basics of cooking and baking, but more importantly, she inspired me. Now, one of my great joys is being able to swap recipes with my mom and cook with her as (somewhat) equals.

One dish my mom is known for is her quiche. So much so that at Burdett’s Tea Shop in my hometown, the quiche on the menu is named “Vicki’s Quiche.” When I had a big potluck on my calendar and was struggling to come up with any big ideas, I realized that her quiche would be perfect. It’s good warm or at room temperature and most of the world loves eggs. Needless to say, it was all gone by potluck’s end.

Vicki’s Quiche

1 pre-baked pie crust
4 eggs, beaten
1 cup sour cream
1/2 cup milk or half and half
1 T flour
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 tsp pepper
1 1/2-2 cups cheese (I used gruyere and cheddar)
3/4-1 cup filling (I used sauteed spinach, diced onion and garlic)

Preheat at 350 degrees. Mix up your filling well and pour into the pre-baked pie crust. Bake for 45-50 minutes.

My husband and I were on the Dining with Doug and Karen podcast with said quiche. We’re at the 17:40 mark.

Vicki’s Quiche

Leave a Reply

