KCRW Pie Contest

This Sunday I participated in the KCRW pie contest for my third year in a row. I entered an apple crumble top pie in the fruit category and a cracklin’ chess pie in the cooked custard category. This year had over 100 more pies than last year. That boggles my mind. With 380 pies in attendance, competition was stiff, and I didn’t take home any ribbons. It was still a fantastic time as it is every year, and I enjoyed sampling fellow bakers’ pies, meeting new people, serving my pie to friends and strangers, and grooving to KCRW’s tunes. This year it was at UCLA and the extra space was welcome, although the late summer heat was not (as can be seen by a fellow participant’s chiffon pie, pictured last)!

 

pies

 

ucla pie contest

 

apple pie

 

melted pie

KCRW Pie Contest

Leave a Reply

